July 6, 2017

AHL Names San Diego Gulls Team of the Year

American Hockey League President and CEO David Andrews has announced that the league has named the San Diego Gulls the 2016-17 winners of the President’s Award as the AHL team of the year. San Diego was recognized Wednesday evening at a gala reception during the Board of Governors’ Annual Meeting at Hilton Head Island, S.C.

Following up an impressive inaugural season, the Gulls continued to excel in year two, ranking third in the league in attendance during the regular season (8,876 avg.) while experiencing an increase of 2.3 percent over 2015-16. The organization also placed among the league sales leaders in several categories, including ticket and corporate partnership revenues, and has made a strong and positive impact in the San Diego community. On the ice, the Gulls reached the second round of the Calder Cup Playoffs for the second consecutive season, and proudly developed many players who helped the Anaheim Ducks advance all the way to the NHL’s Western Conference final.

Established in 2009, the President’s Awards are given to an AHL organization and/or player for overall excellence in the past year.

In operation since 1936, the AHL serves as the top development league for all 31 National Hockey League teams. More than 88 percent of today’s NHL players are American Hockey League graduates, and more than 100 honored members of the Hockey Hall of Fame spent time in the AHL in their careers.